Signatura topográfica
Tipo de material
FILLMORE 1 289.73 F Adult NonFiction Book
RUSHFORD 1 289.73 FIS PB Adult Paperback NonFiction Book
WHITESVLLE 1 289.73 F Adult NonFiction Book




Everyone has been hurt. Everyone experiences conflict, great and small. Everyone has someone to forgive. But sometimes we just can't bring ourselves to forgive someone who has wronged us or we don't take the need to forgive seriously--not like the Amish do. Forgiving others in order to live at peace is woven into the very fabric of their faith. To the Amish way of thinking, "You can't love the stream without knowing the source. " We must forgive others, they believe, because God forgave us.

The Heart of the Amish invites readers into the world of a people renowned for their ability to forgive. Through true stories gathered from a variety of Amish communities, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher illustrates how they are able to release their pain and desire for revenge, and live at peace with others. Her in-depth, personal research uncovers the astounding yet fundamental way the Amish can forgive anyone from the angry customer at the grocery store to the shooter at Nickel Mines. Readers will learn how to invite God into their stories, apply lessons from the Amish to their own circumstances, and find the freedom that comes with true forgiveness.

Notas del autor

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of Amish Peace and Amish Proverbs, as well as many novels about the Amish, including the Lancaster County Secrets series, the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series. She is also the coauthor of an Amish children's series. The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner for The Search, a Carol Award finalist for The Choice, and a Christy Award finalist for The Waiting. She is also a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking Such magazines. She lives in California. Learn more at www.suzannewoodsnsher.com and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

Tabla de contenido

Acknowledgmentsp. 11
Introductionp. 13
Part 1 Everyday Frictionp. 19
A Little Amish General Storep. 23
The Red Mutzap. 27
An Olive Branch of Juicy Fruit Gump. 32
A Jar of Picklesp. 36
Three Words a Mother Never Wants to Hear from Her Fifteen-Year-Old Daughterp. 40
Keeping Secretsp. 44
When Parents Make Mistakesp. 50
Friendly Firep. 55
It's Never about the Furniturep. 61
Make Your Stuffp. 67
The Stories We Tell Our Childrenp. 71
A Turned Cheek and a Loaf of Breadp. 75
Inside the Ring of Protectionp. 81
Part 2 Turning Pointsp. 87
The Unthinkablep. 92
Twist of Faithp. 99
Stuck in Bedp. 105
The Sugarcreek Scandalp. 110
Blessing Our Circumstancesp. 116
A Four-Hundred-Year-Old Biblep. 121
Through My Tearsp. 127
Rachel's Standp. 132
Grace Walked Inp. 139
Two Livesp. 144
Shielding Mariep. 149
It Can Waitp. 153
Honoring a Parent Who Is Not Honorablep. 160
Epiloguep. 167
Notesp. 171
Recommended Readingp. 177

Vista previa de Google

Seleccionar una lista
Establecer como lista predeterminada.
Los siguientes documentos se han añadido.
    Se produjo un error al añadir los siguientes documentos. Reintentar.