Disponible:*

Biblioteca
Copia
Signatura topográfica
Tipo de material
Estado
BRANCHPORT 1 J R New Juvenile Fiction
Buscando...
WAYLAND 1 YA RIT #3 (JACKABY) Juvenile Fiction Book
Buscando...
WESTELMIRA 1 J R Juvenile Fiction Book
Buscando...

Pedido

Resumen

Resumen

POSSESSION.

Jenny wanted to attempt possession, and in my foolish eagerness I agreed.

The office faded into a blinding haze of whiteness, and together Jenny and I tumbled into a world of mist and cold and pain . . .

. . . and out the other side.

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the services of her detective-agency tenants to solve a decade-old murder--her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny's fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny's case isn't so cold after all. Soon Abigail's race to unravel the mystery leads her down to the mythical underworld and deep into her colleagues' grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.


Notas del autor

William Ritter is an Oregon author and educator. He is the proud father of the two bravest boys in the Wild Wood, and husband to the indomitable Queen of the Deep Dark. Ghostly Echoes is the third book in his acclaimed New York Times bestselling Jackaby series. Visit William Ritter online at rwillritter.wordpress.com and find him on Twitter: @Willothewords.


Reseñas 2

Reseña de Booklist

It's finally time for supernaturally talented detective Jackaby and his capable assistant, Miss Rook, to unravel the details of the death of their beloved ghostly housemate, Jenny Cavanaugh. What starts as a straightforward murder case quickly becomes a puzzle involving, among other things, two New Fiddleham mayors, nixies, vampires, and a mean-spirited half-fairy, half-human inventor. This delightful third entry in the Jackaby detective series following Jackaby (2014) and Beastly Bones (2015) is narrated again by Abigail Rook and includes the return of many favorite characters. Ritter's sense of humor balances an enticing mix of crack detective work and encounters with mythological creatures, both considerate and combative.--Welch, Cindy Copyright 2016 Booklist


Reseña de School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up-Paranormal detective duo Abigail Rook and R.F. Jackaby are back again, this time with a more serious focus-to unearth the killer of their ghostly landlord, Jenny, and find out what actually became of her missing fiancé, Howard. As the unlikely pair begin to uncover more evidence about the murder, they realize that the circumstances around Jenny's death 10 years ago are still very much relevant to the present. Implicating the mayor and other well-known scientists, Rook and Jackaby's discoveries show that Jenny's death is a small cog in the wheel of a nefarious plan, one involving the Dire Council, which is intent on harnessing magical powers. Decidedly more serious than the previous installment, Beastly Bones, this novel features a fairly somber Jackaby and increasingly mature Rook. Many questions are still unanswered at the end (Is Jackaby still up for this line of work? Will he and Rook stop the malevolent Dire Council before its evil plan comes to fruition?), thus opening up the possibility of another book in the series. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Jonathan Stroud's The Screaming Staircase and Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener.-Amanda C. Buschmann, Atascocita Middle School, Humble, TX © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Vista previa de Google

Seleccionar una lista
Establecer como lista predeterminada.
Los siguientes documentos se han añadido.
    Se produjo un error al añadir los siguientes documentos. Reintentar.