Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Alfred Box of Books Library 1 FIC BUR Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Bath - Dormann Library 1 FICTION Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Belmont Literary and Historical Society Free Library 1 FICTION #3 Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Branchport - Modeste Bedient Memorial Library 1 FICTION Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Cuba Circulating Library Association 1 FIC BUR Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Horseheads Free Library 1 MYSTERY Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Wellsville - David A. Howe Public Library 1 MYS Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
West Elmira Library 1 FICTION Adult Fiction Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"The plot of an Alafair Burke thriller doesn't just rip from the headlines. She's one step ahead of them. 212 scares you and keeps you turning the pages into the wee hours."
--Harlan Coben

"Burke has created a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky's V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller's Sharon McCone.... Utterly authentic."
--Boston Globe

212 is acclaimed author--and former deputy district attorney--Alafair Burke's gripping thriller featuring hip, Manhattan-based detective Ellie Hatcher. Fans of Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, Sue Grafton, and PJ Tracy will find it hard to put 212 down until the very last page.


Author Notes

Alafair Burke graduated from Reed College and Stanford Law School. After graduating, she became a Deputy District Attorney in Portland, Oregon where she worked as a trial lawyer prosecuting domestic violence offenses and as a liaison to the police department. After five years of working at the District Attorney's Office, she decided to start writing. Her first novel, Judgment Calls, was published in 2003. Her other works include Long Gone, If You Were Here, The Ex, A Samantha Kincaid Mystery series, the Ellie Hatcher series, and the Under Suspicion series written with Mary Higgins Clark. She currently teaches criminal law and procedure at Hofstra Law School.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

When a bodyguard is killed in the Manhattan penthouse owned by his billionaire boss, Sam Sparks, the case gets under Detective Ellie Hatcher's skin. But she has to set aside this unsolved crime and her suspicions of Sparks, which land her a contempt charge and a night in jail to investigate the murder of an NYU coed, who was being harassed online, and her roommate. Then a real-estate agent who moonlights as a call girl is found murdered after being tortured in a first-class hotel, and Hatcher and partner J. J. Rogan find a common thread in what seem unrelated cases. In the third in the Ellie Hatcher series (after Dead Connection, 2007, and Angel's Tip, 2008), Burke skillfully portrays her protagonist's relationships with victims' families and persons of interest; with her partner; with her female boss, Liuetentant Robin Tucker; and, especially with ADA Max Donovan, whose love provides her only respite from the work with which she's obsessed. Up-to-the-minute, action-packed crime fiction from the daughter of James Lee Burke.--Leber, Michele Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Burke's third white-knuckle thriller finds NYPD Det. Ellie Hatcher (after Angel's Tip) and her partner, J.J. Rogan, investigating the murder of NYU student Megan Gunther, who's the target of threatening posts on a college gossip Web site. The death of bodyguard Robert "Robo" Mancini, whose bullet-ridden corpse turns up in a swanky new building, the 212, built by Sam Sparks, the high-powered Manhattan real-estate developer Robo worked for, ups the ante. When Sam makes it clear that the police won't have access to any company records, Ellie's interest is piqued. As she and J.J. try to piece together Megan's life, they discover a link between the student and a recently murdered real estate agent. With her usual tenacity, Ellie pursues leads that put both her career and her life at risk. Burke expertly weaves real-life headlines into her plot-particularly the Craig's List Killer and the slew of recent political scandals-without ever sacrificing originality. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Library Journal Review

When NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher (Angel's Tip) and her partner, J.J. Rogan, suspect a connection between the murder of a college co-ed who'd recently complained about an online stalking incident and the murder of a bodyguard employed by a wealthy and well-known real estate developer, the clues lead them into the darker side of the Internet-a world of anonymous online gossip and call-girl ads. Ellie soon finds herself juggling two active cases while sitting in the crosshairs of both office politics and high-powered persons of interest who don't like the police looking into their business. Verdict The latest installment of former district attorney and current criminal law professor Burke's Ellie Hatcher series is a fast-paced thriller featuring an appealingly current angle, dynamic characters, and a spiderweb of possibilities she manages to leave tied up neatly. Strongly recommended for public libraries, especially where thrillers are popular. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 12/09.]-Amy Brozio-Andrews, Albany P.L., NY (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.