Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Alfred Box of Books Library 1 J K Juvenile Fiction Book
Searching...
Andover Free Library 1 J K Rotating Collection Items
Searching...
Branchport - Modeste Bedient Memorial Library 1 J K New Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Elmira - Steele Memorial Library 1 J K Juvenile Fiction Book
Searching...
Montour Falls Memorial Library 1 J K Juvenile Fiction Book
Searching...
Wellsville - David A. Howe Public Library 1 J K Juvenile Fiction Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove--their mythical, world-traveling aunt--is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, "Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life."


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Soledad's life in a small Louisiana town has its bleak aspects. The 12-year-old lives in low-income housing with rats in the walls, but worse than that is the evil stepmother who cares as little as possible for Sol and her younger sister, Ming. The girls came from the Philippines with their father and Vea, who only married him to get to America. Their father, however, returned to the Philippines, yet Vea keeps the girls for the assistance money. Despite all that is wrong in Sol's world, she has a soaring imagination: a punishment closet can transform into a castle, and her third sister, who drowned back in the Philippines, can appear like an angel. There is purpose in Sol's life, too: taking care of Ming and having fun with her friend Manny though his desire to kiss her seems silly. Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life. For example, an elderly Chinese neighbor, who speaks almost no English, is so beautifully cast that dialogue isn't even necessary. One caveat: the lighthearted cover depicting Sol and Ming having backyard fun may suggest to readers that this is a breezy read, when in truth, it is so much more.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Kelly (Blackbird Fly) balances the bleak and the beautiful in a novel about the multilayered bond between sisters. Twelve-year-old narrator Sol and her six-year-old sister, Ming, live in a depressing, rat-infested apartment building with their cruel stepmother, Vea, who taps cigarette ashes into the carpet and locks them in the closet when they misbehave. Soon after the girls' mother and younger sister Amelia died, their father married Vea and moved all of them from the Philippines to Louisiana, only to abandon them and return home. In a supernatural thread woven into the story, Sol converses with the ghost of Amelia, who offers advice and helps Sol parse what is true and what is real. Fairy-tale fantasies and extensions of the tales their mother once told Sol contrast with her day-to-day life with her best friend Manny and a well-developed cast that includes an artistically inclined junkyard owner and a kind neighbor. While the story is resolved a bit tidily, Kelly's strong heroine offers hope in the face of loss. Ages 8-12. Agent: Sara Crowe, Harvey Klinger. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-Soledad and Ming, two sisters from the Philippines, live in Louisiana with their evil stepmother, Vea. All Sol and Ming have is each other and their stories. Both girls inherited a lively imagination from their mother, Mei-Mei. When she was alive, Mei-Mei wove enthralling tales about her magical sister, Jove, who traveled around the world. The girls cling to tales of Auntie Jove as a hope of escape while living in a dreary apartment with miserable Vea. Sol worries for her younger sister as Ming begins to believe Auntie Jove is a reality, blurring the lines between fact and fiction. Can Sol save her sister from the depression caused by her own stories, or have they done irreparable damage? Is there a way for Sol, Ming, and Vea to understand one another and be happy in their own reality? Readers will become engrossed in the enchanting plot propelled by delightful narration. This book will appeal to a broad array of readers, as it has a little bit of everything-fantasy, realism, sisterhood, friendship, suspense, and humor. VERDICT A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.-Tiffany Davis, Mount Saint Mary College, Newburgh, NY © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.