Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Branchport - Modeste Bedient Memorial Library 1 FICTION New books
Searching...
Canisteo - Wimodaughsian Free Library 1 FICTION New books
Searching...
Corning - Southeast Steuben County Library 1 FIC BUR New books
Searching...
Cuba Circulating Library Association 1 FIC BUR New books
Searching...
Dundee Library 1 FIC B New books
Searching...
Richburg - Colonial Library 1 FICTION New books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

His Scandal

Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10--in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look--at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Angela Powell, the unreliable narrator of this plot-propelled roller-coaster of a domestic thriller from Edgar-finalist Burke (The Ex), is the wife of a respected NYU economics professor and rising media star and the mother of a 13-year-old. She leads a privileged, if somewhat boring life-which is precisely what she craves after miraculously surviving, as a teen, the kind of ordeal that spawns true crime tomes. But then intern Rachel Sutton accuses her husband, Jason, of sexual harassment, and a second woman comes forward to claim rape and then suddenly vanishes. NYPD Det. Corrine Duncan doggedly investigates the initial allegations and later the disappearance of consultant Kerry Lynch, who Jason claims was his mistress. In the process, Corinne uncovers Angela's painstakingly buried past, and it starts to look as though almost no one, maybe least of all Angela, is who he or she seems. As riveting as Burke's increasingly jaw-dropping twists prove, they eventually undermine the believability of her principals. Agent: Philip Spitzer, Philip Spitzer Literary Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Reclusive Angela, beautiful and happily married with a 13-year-old son, lives with a dark secret that she zealously protects. She and Jason, her seriously hot media darling husband, are the perfect couple. His brilliant career as an NYU economics professor and successful consultant derails when he is accused of sexually harassing a young intern, and the publicity threatens the couple's idyllic lifestyle. When a business contact accuses Jason of rape and then disappears, their world implodes. NYPD detective Corrine Duncan tenaciously pursues these assault claims, even when they fall outside her jurisdiction, circling ever closer to Angela's closely guarded secret and Jason's deceptions. Angela's traumatic past is revealed bit by bit, but it is the shocking conclusion that provides an almost unbelievable twist. Burke's knowledge of criminal law and police procedures shines in this tangled plot with an unreliable narrator. Is anyone whom they seem to be? Verdict Edgar-nominated Burke (The Ex) has written a timely, riveting, and deeply resonant psychological suspense novel focused on sexual harassment and varying degrees of assault in both domestic and workplace settings. Fans of Linda Fairstein will devour this. [See Prepub Alert, 7/24/17.]-Gloria Drake, Oswego P.L. Dist., IL © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.