Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Alfred Box of Books Library 1 E B Juvenile Fiction Book
Searching...
Corning - Southeast Steuben County Library 1 JB ROBINSON Juvenile NonFiction Book
Searching...
Horseheads Free Library 1 E B ROBINSON Juvenile NonFiction Book
Searching...
Whitesville Public Library 1 E B New Juvenile Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A moving and inspiring nonfiction picture book about Jackie Robinson's court martial trial--an important lesser-known moment in his lifetime of fighting prejudice with strength and grace--from author Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and award-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie. Perfect for fans of Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, The Story of Ruby Bridges, and Martin's Big Words.

Jackie Robinson broke boundaries as the first African American player in Major League Baseball. But long before Jackie changed the world in a Dodger uniform, he did it in an army uniform.

As a soldier during World War II, Jackie experienced segregation every day--separate places for black soldiers to sit, to eat, and to live. When the army outlawed segregation on military posts and buses, things were supposed to change.

So when Jackie was ordered by a white bus driver to move to the back of a military bus, he refused. Instead of defending Jackie's rights, the military police took him to trial. But Jackie would stand up for what was right, even when it was difficult to do.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

The jaunty red-and-white stripes of the endpapers and the smiling cover portrait of a uniformed Jackie Robinson saluting foretell a good outcome for his titular case. Bardhan-Quallen focuses on an incident of fortitude that indeed came out well. It's a story that will appeal both to baseball fans and those looking for an interesting way to highlight lesser-known aspects of the fight for civil rights. When Robinson was serving in the army during WWII, segregation was in force until late in the war. After it was lifted, Robinson got on an army bus in Texas and, like Rosa Parks some 10 years later, was told to move to the back. He didn't. A court martial ensued, but Robinson stood up for himself and won. Christie's colorful flat backgrounds highlight incidents in Robinson's life, albeit rather stiffly, varying stylistically from his Caldecott Honor Book Freedom in Congo Square (2016). A time line, author's note, and bibliography offer a springboard for readers who want to know more.--Cruze, Karen Copyright 2017 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Before he made baseball history, Jackie Robinson fought segregation in the U.S. Army. Bardhan-Quallen (Brobot Bedtime) focuses on Robinson's acts of resistance, including his refusal to give up his seat on a military bus, for which he was court martialed: "He was one of the first black Americans to challenge a segregation law in court. And he won." The story jumps from this victory to Robinson's post-Army life, as he played baseball with the Negro League Monarchs, minor league Royals, and Brooklyn Dodgers, where he cemented his legacy as the first African-American major leaguer. Raw, sweeping brushstrokes bring a sense of extemporaneous energy to Christie's gouache paintings. Readers who only associate Robinson with the baseball diamond will recognize how his success depended as much on his perseverance as his batting average. Ages 4-8. Author's agent: Rachell Orr, Prospect Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-Bordhan-Quallen does not mince words when retelling how Jackie Robinson, not yet the iconic ball player, was arrested and subject to a court-martial when he was in the army for sitting at the front of a bus. The author reiterates throughout that many white people "didn't see an officer in the United States Army. They only saw a black man." In Christie's acrylic gouache painted illustrations, Robinson is usually placed in the center, surrounded by often-angry white faces. Christie elegantly shows readers a visual representation of how Robinson must have felt everyday-different, out of place, resented. A substantial amount of back matter reinforces the storylike narrative. Bordhan-Quallen includes a time line of the history of segregation in the United States along with Robinson's life, in addition to a bibliography. An author's note with commentary on the importance of standing up for what's right is also included. VERDICT There are many biographies on Jackie Robinson, but this is a worthy addition that focuses on a period of his life before baseball.-Kerri Williams, Sachem Public Library, Holbrook, NY © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.