Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Savona Free Library 1 FICTION REY New books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

When Jo falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in the hospital with partial amnesia. In fact, she finds that she's lost an entire year of memories, and she can't remember anything that happened the night she fell. Her husband and her two children assure her that everything's fine, but Jo's family seems to have gone through a lot of dramatic changes in the past year, and she can't let go of the suspicion that there's more they're keeping from her.

As she pieces together the details of the past twelve months, it becomes more and more clear that her family wants her to stay in the dark--but why? Jo begins to wonder if she hasn't been as good a wife and mother as she might have hoped . . .


Author Notes

Amanda Reynolds lives in the English countryside with her husband, two children, and two furry golden retrievers. Close To Me is her first novel.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Head injuries are always bad news for domestic-suspense heroines. After a fall down the stairs, Jo Harding can't remember the past year of her life. And she's beginning to become suspicious of her husband's insistence that she needn't bother to remember. As bits and pieces do come back, the newly empty-nested housewife discovers that her husband is leaving out some pretty significant events from the last year like her son's dropping out of college for mysterious reasons and the fact that Jo was planning to leave her husband the day she fell. Even as the secrets come pouring out, Jo distrusts her foggy recollections and the versions of the truth she's getting from her family. A perfect fit for fans of Judy Mercer and Nicci French.--Keefe, Karen Copyright 2017 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Partial amnesia has become an overused gimmick in psychological thrillers, as shown by British author Reynolds's mundane debut. Jo Harding wakes up in the hospital following a fall down the stairs at her home. She can't remember anything that occurred during the past year, and her husband, Rob, seems determined to keep her in the dark. Her grown children, son Fin and daughter Sash, also are vague about the previous year. At home, Jo wonders if her fall happened during an argument with Rob, or if he pushed her, especially since he barely lets her out of his sight. As flashes of memory return, Jo worries whether Rob was having an affair-or whether she was, since she keeps seeing images of a naked man in bed. Jo's search for her memory quickly becomes wearisome. Whiny, self-centered personalities give little reason to care about any of the characters, and the banal denouement is more of a shrug than a surprise. Agent: Sarah Williams, Sophie Hicks Agency (U.K.). (Dec.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.