Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Avoca Free Library 1 CHRISTIAN FIC/BOOK 1 Adult Paperback Fiction Book
Searching...
Fillmore - Wide Awake Club Library 1 FICTION Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Jasper Free Library 1 FICTION New books
Searching...
Richburg - Colonial Library 1 FICTION New books
Searching...
Rushford Free Library 1 CHRISTIAN G PB Adult Paperback Fiction Book
Searching...
Van Etten Library 1 FICTION Adult Fiction Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Robert came to Galveston to fulfill his promise to a dying man and look after his widow. He didn't expect to find love in the unlikeliest of places.

Robert Truax, former Second Lieutenant and Confederate officer in the Civil War, made a promise to his comrade Phillip Markham. If anything happened to Phillip, Robert would look after his beloved wife, Miranda. She was his life, his world, his everything.

After the war, Robert is left to pick up the pieces and fulfill his pact. When he arrives at Miranda's home in Galveston, Texas, things are worse than he imagined. Phillip's name has been dragged through the mud, everyone in town believes him to be a traitor, and his widow is treated as an outcast. Even more disturbing is her emotional well-being. Miranda seems hopeless, lost, and so very alone.

Robert had thought his duty would be simple. He would help Miranda as quickly as possible in order to honor a promise. But the moment Robert laid eyes on her, his plans changed. He's mesmerized by her beauty and yearns to help her in any way he can.

He makes it his duty to protect Miranda, turn her reputation around, and to find some way to help her smile again. But it doesn't prove to be an easy task--Robert knows something about

Phillip that could shake Miranda to the core and alter her view of the man she thought she knew so well.


Author Notes

Shelley Shephard Gray earned a bachelor's and master's degree in education. Before becoming a full time writer, she taught elementary school in Texas, Arizona, and Colorado. She started writing about the Amish because their way of life appealed to her and she wanted to write stories about regular people in extraordinary situations. Her works include the Sisters of the Heart series, Seasons of Sugarcreek series, The Families of Honor series, Heart of a Hero series, and Secrets of Crittenden County series.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

In 1865, as a POW, Confederate soldier Robert Truax promises fellow prisoner Phillip Markham that if anything happens to Phillip, he will help his wife, Miranda. Two years later Robert is in Galveston, TX, trying to keep that promise. He soon discovers that this beautiful widow is treated as an outcast because of rumors that her husband gave secrets to the Yankees. The situation is further complicated by anonymous, threatening letters and bitter in-laws, as well as the growing feelings Robert and Miranda have for each other. Gray is best known for her Amish fiction (A Son's Vow), and this first title in her second series of historical romances (after "Chicago World's Fair" mysteries) will entertain her fans. VERDICT Despite a few flaws (less developed minor characters; repetitiveness), this title may hold appeal for readers of Tamera Alexander, Judith Miller, Tracie Peterson, and Lori Wick.-Margaret Bentley, Shiawassee Dist. Lib., Owosso, MI © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.