Available:*

Library
Copy
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Corning - Southeast Steuben County Library 1 614.4 KIN New NonFiction Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

If you have a child in school, you may have heard stories of long-dormant diseases suddenly reappearing--cases of measles, mumps, rubella, and whooping cough cropping up everywhere from elementary schools to Ivy League universities because a select group of parents refuse to vaccinate their children.

Between Hope and Fear tells the remarkable story of vaccine-preventable infectious diseases and their social and political implications. While detailing the history of vaccine invention, Kinch reveals the ominous reality that our victories against vaccine-preventable diseases are not permanent--and could easily be undone. In the tradition of John Barry's The Great Influenza and Siddhartha Mukherjee's The Emperor of All Maladies, Between Hope and Fear relates the remarkable intersection of science, technology and disease that has helped eradicate many of the deadliest plagues known to man.


Author Notes

Michael Kinch was a professor at Purdue University, where he researched breast and prostate cancer. He then went on to found an oncology program at the biotechnology company MedImmune. He has led research and development activities at Functional Genetics, Inc. and lead drug discovery at Yale University. He is now a professor and Vice Chancellor at Washington University in St. Louis and is the author of A Prescription for Change (UNC Press) and Between Hope and Fear, also available from Pegasus Books.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

The benefits of vaccines are colossal, and claims that they can cause autism are absolutely false. Roughly two centuries after the introduction of a vaccine for smallpox, that horrific contagion has been eradicated. A study on the safety of the pertussis vaccine commissioned by President Ronald Reagan reported: Next to clean water, no single intervention has had so profound an effect on reducing mortality from childhood diseases as had the widespread introduction of vaccines. Much of the anti-vaccinator hubbub stems from a fraudulent claim made by a British doctor in 1998 that the MMR vaccine was linked to developmental disorders. He later confessed to his deception, and the charlatan had his medical license confiscated. Immunologist Kinch reviews the history of various infectious diseases, how vaccines work and their efficacy, relevant biomedical research, and the personalities who played pivotal roles in this field. Adversaries of vaccination have their reasons (religious beliefs, vulnerability to propaganda), but science is not on their side. Vaccines don't trigger autism, while pathogenic microbes and ignorance can wreak havoc and result in countless unnecessary deaths.--Miksanek, Tony Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Kinch (A Prescription for Change), director of the Center for Research Innovation in Biotechnology at Washington University in St. Louis, studiously chronicles some of the worst disease outbreaks in human history and the development of the vaccines that stanched the tide of suffering. He traces the trail of smallpox from its early days as the "Antonine Plague" in ancient Rome, through the arrival of the Spanish in the New World, to the eventual development of the smallpox vaccine by Edward Jenner in 1796. He recalls the development of the drug AZT, used to treat HIV and AIDS, by a band of scientists with Nobel Prize-winning biochemist Gertrude "Trudie" Elion at the helm, and details the nationalist rivalry between Louis Pasteur and German microbiologist Robert Koch. Kinch also gives accessible science lessons in immune-activating interferons, how the T cells and B cells function in the human immune system, and the different problems in treating bacterial and viral infections. Kinch's main purpose, however, is to warn against the dangers of the antivaccine movement, "fringe elements in the public" who believe in discredited links between various vaccines and autism. Kinch's argument in favor of reason and science over fear and charlatanism is cogent and well-researched, presenting a large-scale chronological narrative of disease and prevention. Agent: Don Fehr, Trident Media Group. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Kinch (radiation oncology, Washington Univ.; director, Ctr. for Research Innovation in Business; Prescription for Change), ostensibly writing to refute the dangerous rise of antivaccinators, provides readers with an interdisciplinary cornucopia of meticulously researched information on the intersection of history, disease, and vaccine invention. Beginning with a detailed account of the devastation of smallpox over time (particularly horrific highlights include the ancient Roman battlefields and the decimation of Native peoples in the Americas during the 16th century), Kinch winds his way through history, science, and public policy. Readers learn about the early days of variolation and vaccination, as well as how immunity actually works in the body. Additionally, an accounting of the discovery of bacteria and viruses, as well as significant breakthroughs in vaccine intervention, are described. The factually dense writing is often humorous and chock-full of engaging ancillary information providing a wealth of background and a remarkable synthesis of material. VERDICT Recommended for scientists and medical professionals but also for readers curious about the history of disease and our efforts at understanding and prevention.-Ragan O'Malley, Saint Ann's Sch., Brooklyn © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Table of Contents

Introductionp. ix
1 Pox Romanap. 1
2 Vaccination & Eradicationp. 26
3 Becoming Defensivep. 57
4 The Wurst Way to Diep. 89
5 Spreading Like Virusesp. 115
6 A Sense of Humorsp. 147
7 Lost In Translationp. 174
8 Breathing Easierp. 198
9 Three Little Lettersp. 220
10 When Future Shocks Become Current Affairsp. 247
Epiloguep. 275
Endnotesp. 281
Acknowledgmentsp. 319
Indexp. 321

Google Preview

Select a list
Make this your default list.
The following items were successfully added.
    There was an error while adding the following items. Please try again.